Itinerant Ham

Home » Amateur Radio » Crab Cay or Rolle Cay NA-001?

Crab Cay or Rolle Cay NA-001?

Do you ever have a bad day? I did recently. For a few years I’d had my eye on an abandoned beach bar in the Harbour at Georgetown in C6A. On January the 2nd, I decided to go and activate it.

  
I got there and anchored the dinghy, unloaded my stuff and took it all up to the bar area which is a nice, wooden platform about 3m above the sea. It’s marked on the map as Latitude Resort on Rolle Cay. It has great takeoff for Europe and the USA so it was a really good place to go. 

Within 20minutes my 20m monobander vertical was set up and working well despite finding yet another cheap pl-259 had gone bad. Unfortunately 20m wasn’t in great shape but after a couple of nice runs and switching to RTTY when the voice traffic died, I ended up with 160 qsos in the log over a couple of hours.

A couple of ‘admin’ problems then arose. As I was winding down the operation (my battery was getting flat), some friends came along and started chatting. That culminated in them inviting me for lunch so I started packing up the station and loading it back on the dinghy. That meant that I didn’t take the usual screenshot of the ‘ham square’ app on my iPad, that I use to validate the position of the station and I also forgot to take any pictures of the station. I usually write up any new activations as a blog so that Roger, G3KMA can validate the activation. This is necessary for those people travelling to the rarer spots by boat or ensure the operation takes place from the land rather than the boat.

Then the other problem. Somehow, I’d got it in my head that I was on ‘Crab Cay NA-001’ but to my horror I realised I had been on Rolle Cay.

So that’s the story of Crab Cay or Rolle Cay – not to worry, the QSL cards will come out with the correct name on them and I’ll be going back to do it again properly in a few weeks. In the mean time, happy new year and 73.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

