Itinerant Ham

Home » Amateur Radio » C6ATS

C6ATS

I had a very nice note today from the Bahamian licensing authorities.

Dear Mr. Macrae,

We are pleased to enclose herewith an electronic copy of your amateur radio licence. 

Please note that the original will be sent via post. 

Wishing you a most enjoyable time when you visit the Bahamas.
With kind regards, 

Linda S. Francis

(I’m going to recommend she goes on secondment to OFCOM to help them brush up their PR skills). πŸ˜‰

Anyway that means we can go off and pollute the airwaves in C6 for a while. So don’t forget you can still take part in the Band Survey. I’m hoping to be there by mid-November probably bypassing NA-048 initially, but checking in at Gt Harbour Cay in the Berry Islands group (NA-054).

As usual, I’ll tweet (@itinerantham) when I’m going to be active with an indication of band. Charles (@charlesM0OXO) will be sending out QSLs via his excellent OQRS service. Logs shall be uploaded to LOTW as soon as possible (usually same day). This year, rather than using an expensive, metered, Internet connection, I’m going to be sending logs via Winlink which is a very effective and efficient way of sending email with attachments. 

20140115-190626.jpg

Stocking Island NA-001

I’m hoping to add a few more islands to the groups in the Bahamas this year. So stand-by for some names that may not be on the official IOTA list (yet). Hopefully I’ll be able to blog in a timely way and give you a flavour for the islands I’ve managed to activate. And, when Roger, G3KMA, approves each activation (he has to since we travel by boat) I’ll post the news here too.

Lastly, and I know that most of you will be super compliant with the DX Code of Conduct, but just in case you’re not aware of it – it’s a very good read and will likely get you your QSO faster. (Slightly) more importantly, it’ll help me run more effectively. 

Please bear in that:

  • I will probably need to listen over a reasonable bandwidth (where available).(hint)
  • I will QSY if I get too much QRM.
  • I will announce when I’m QRT.
  • I’m working on my own, on a battery – I need to eat, drink and answer the call of nature πŸ˜€
  • If you call persistently and out of cadence, I will not answer you and will QSY.
  • If you copy my call from the cluster – there were no less than 6 variants in 2014! GL!
  • This is a hobby and we’ll all enjoy it more if we behave like we’re in the same room together.

So with that out the way, I have to say, I’m looking forward to working a lot of stations, old and new. I’m hoping to be in the Bahamas from mid-November until the beginning of March so I won’t be QRV every day but I hope to be active as often as possible.

Lastly, take a look at Voacap. If you have a particularly difficult path or timing constraints, I’m happy to try a sked – just get in touch by email (QRZ.com).

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

