Itinerant Ham

Home » Radio » Off to Gozo

Off to Gozo

So off we went to Gozo, Malta to our QTH. I applied to the MCA (Malta Communications Authority) and asked them politely if they would grant me a Temporary License on the basis of my US Advanced Extra license.  I asked only for a temporary license since Malta is not in CEPT and hence visitors have to apply for their license to be recognised and an temporary Maltese license to be issued. As a resident of Malta, I would be required to pass the local exam as well.

Imagine my surprise when they said they would issue a temporary license immediately and then a Permanent License on the basis of my Advanced Extra! Whoopee! And so I became 9H3RJ for my first month or so in Malta.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

